Joy in Pietermaritzburg Prison

Several of the international evangelists who was with us at the Rusizi Mission in Rwanda went on to Pietermaritzburg, South Africa, to participate in the mission which took place there 12-19 August, as part of the 50th anniversary celebrations of African Enterprise.  One of the evangelists shared this testimony of an experience today:

“During the course of the mission where I preached three evenings, I met a man who goes every week into the prison.  He asked me to go preach there this morning.  It is a large men’s prison (3,000 inmates) and the wing we were on was maximum security.  The staff member told us that all of the men there were on a sentence of “25 to life.” They have a Christian Fellowship – about 40 were there today, which is more than usual, with several newcomers.  One man saved in June gave his testimony and has clearly been changed by Christ.  As he went out he gave me a tattered bookmark with his name on it; “The only thing I have to give.”  I preached from Luke 24:46 on repentance and forgiveness of sins, to a very receptive audience (translated into Zulu for the benefit of the non-English speakers).  When the invitation was given, four men came forward enthusiastically to declare their faith in Christ.  I don’t know that even the angels could have known more joy than was in that room!  I’ll probably never hug forty lifers in one morning again, but I wouldn’t have missed this for anything.”

Rejoice with us.  “For the message of the cross is foolishness to those who are perishing, but to us who are being saved it is the power of God.”  (1 Corinthians 1:18, NIV)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.